Friday Weigh-In: The Final Countdown

dsc0329512211111111111211111111I lost another 1.4 pounds this week! My weight is now 146.3, which officially puts me in the last 10 pounds zone. It’s also officially going to be the toughest part of this journey, but I am fired up and ready to go!

All the walking I’m doing is making a big difference. I am now up to two hours of walking per day along with carrying three-pound weights for all two hours. I almost crave the walking now and look forward to it each day – it’s no longer something to dread or something “I have to do.”

What I’m not looking forward to though is possible foot surgery in a couple of months. See those lovely bunions on my already-wide feet? See the way the big toes turn inward? My doctor saw my feet this past week ¬†and after she was done putting her eyeballs back into place her first comment was “You’re an excellent candidate for a bunionectomy!” I will be meeting with the podiatrist soon and he/she will make the final call. If I do have the surgery, it will be on one foot at a time, with a recovery time of six to eight weeks for each foot, which means . . . no walking (and a tougher time losing these last few pounds). Training class for the half-marathon begins in March, so if the surgery is a go, then that won’t happen, although I still will be able to walk the marathon in October.

In the meantime though I’m going to keep on keeping on, and walk as much as possible and lose as much as I can. Just 10 more pounds to go!

6 Comments

Filed under Friday Weigh-In, Weight Loss

6 responses to “Friday Weigh-In: The Final Countdown

  1. Good luck! I think the weights are probably helping your loose so much. I was doing some research and it seems strength training helps speed up metabolism. Good luck on the final push!

  2. Just 10 lbs!?! That’s awesome.

  3. Fabulousity!!! Isn’t it great when you reach the point where exercise becomes its own reward? I remember the first time I got there in my adult life. I felt as if my body was finally working like it was supposed to again.

    Best of luck with the foot surgery. Perhaps I should be happy about my outward pointing toes after all! :-)

  4. Congrats! And, I love that point where I actually crave working out – it makes getting my workout in so much easier. You’re training for a half marathon?! That’s awesome. Are you doing the Portland Rock & Roll?

  5. Well done Laura! 2 hours a day, with weights – I NEED to do this!

  6. Christina Neumann

    Just found your blog from someone’s else’s . And after reading slot of your past blogs, I was inspired to join WW online. I did WW years ago and I did lose weight, I’ve been in an never ending battle and thought after reading your blogs, I’m gonna do this. I walk but not more than 30 minutes and have cancer, so I have to be careful not to over do. But I am going to do this.
    I will now follow you on your other blog, so I don’t know if you’ll get a chance to read this. But a big thank you!

Leave a Reply

