Saturday Morning Weigh-In

As I don’t get weighed at Weight Watchers until Monday evening, all I can do today is repeat the shocking and depressing amount that registered on their scale last week when I checked in: 179.8 pounds.  What’s truly sad is that this is 1.8 pounds more than I weighed at the end of 2008, before I lost 30 pounds in 2009.

Anyway, it’s been a good week, eating wise. The new points plan is very easy to follow, and I’ve eaten a wide variety of good, healthy food. While I thought I had been eating smaller servings, I now know I was still eating way too much.

If I could describe the past week in one word it would be: FRUIT! Most fruit is now zero points, and I have been having fruit with each meal and as snacks. I realized this week that while I have always bought fruit, it was for everyone else, so I wasn’t eating it. This week I bought and have eaten fruits that I like: strawberries, blueberries, melon and pineapple, and have enjoyed a fruit salad almost every day.

This weekend’s weather is supposed to be gorgeous, with temperatures climbing into the 80s. I have been out on walks twice this past week, but Mr. Losing It and I are looking forward to walking together this weekend, and I’ll walk to and back from the meeting on Monday night as well. I’m not expecting any great loss for my first week, but hopefully will be off to a good start.

4 Comments

Filed under Weight Loss

4 responses to “Saturday Morning Weigh-In

  1. EcoCatLady

    I have always been a total fruit fanatic. I just think it’s delicious. One of my very favorite meals is a big bowl of fruit sprinkled with pumpkin seeds and ground flax, topped with a big dollop of plain yogurt.

    I lost 40 pounds about 15 years ago, and for the most part I’ve kept it off. But I can’t just go into “eat whatever I want” mode or I start to gain it back again. For me the real “danger foods” are breads and starches. I totally LOVE them… but I have to look on them as special treats not part of my regular meals.

    My general advice is not to look at this as a weight loss journey, you really have to look at it as a “forever” plan both in terms of food and exercise. It’s a real balancing act for me because I have a history of eating disorders, so I have to be careful not to let myself go too far off the “middle road” in either direction.

    Hang in there, and remember, it’s just a number!

    • I am a fruit fanatic, too, but am tired of apples, oranges and bananas, which is all we eat during the winter, and had gotten into the habit of saving all of it for the kids and my husband. I splurged and bought myself fresh strawberries, blueberries, grapes, pineapple, and melon (all at Costco – big packages, small price) and am loving having fruit I love eating available every day.

      I am a small-boned person (although you wouldn’t know it to look at me right now). When I am carrying around too much weight, it hurts, in my hips, my ankles, everywhere. I don’t want to look like a supermodel or wear a size 4, I just want to weigh enough that I’m comfortable carrying myself around.

      And (slap upside the head), I plan to stick with Weight Watchers for the long haul this time. I plan to lose the weight, become a lifetime member, and then keep going to those meetings. I need the support to stay vigilant.

  2. I’m coming right along with you on this one, Laura. In 2008 I made an effort to really get fit. Not running marathons or the like (ha!), but eating better and exercising more. I felt great. But then, well, life happened. And I find that 4 years later I now weigh more than I ever have before and I feel like a slug.

    So I’m back on the food plan, and working (slowly) towards my goal of eating better, exercising more, and feeling healthier.

    As for fruit — I’ve been starting my day with a fruit smoothie every morning. It’s great! Half a banana, a small orange, and several slices of frozen mango with a bit of almond milk. Delicious, nutricious, and keeps me going all morning!

    Wishing you all the best on your weight loss journey.

    • One of my goals this time, besides losing the weight, is to become fit enough that I can go as a chaperone on my youngest daughter’s trip to China in two years. I’ve got my work cut out for me! I’m especially looking forward to just feeling better overall.

      I love smoothies, but I don’t think one would carry me through the morning. I’ll have to give it a try though, especially since fruits are now zero points in the WW plan.

      Best wishes on your journey as well!

Leave a Reply

