Frugal Recipe of the Week: Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

A friend sent me this recipe for burritos last year and they quickly became a favorite and a nice change from more “traditional” burritos. They’re not only delicious and easy to make, but the ingredients don’t cost a lot, and they are also very nutritious and low fat (and are vegan with the cheese left out). They can also be wrapped individually and frozen to reheat later for snacks or a quick meal.

The recipe calls for cooked and mashed sweet potato, but a large can of sweet potatoes can be substituted to save on time. If you are using canned potatoes, add the water gradually though as the canned potatoes tend to be “wetter” than home-baked ones and you might not need as much as is called for. Likewise, canned refried beans (large can again) can be substituted for the kidney beans in the recipe to save on time, although I personally don’t think it takes all that much time to mash the kidney beans. There’s no reason either why other types of beans, such as black beans or pintos, couldn’t be substituted if you prefer them. The recipe says it makes 12 large burritos, but I halve the recipe and it makes 8 smaller ones using 8-inch tortillas (we use whole wheat tortillas). The spices might seem excessive to some, but I happen to think they’re just enough (and a couple of daughters added salsa); my friend has halved the chili powder, cumin mustard and cayenne pepper and says they still taste great.

We had some leftover bean mixture last time I made these; two girls finished it off with eggs the following morning in “breakfast burritos.”

ADDICTIVE SWEET POTATO BURRITOS

3 tsp vegetable oil

Ingredients ready to be folded into the tortilla

1 medium onion, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

6 cups canned kidney beans, drained

2 cups water

3 TBSP chili powder

2 tsp ground cumin

4 tsp prepared mustard

pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)

3 TBSP soy sauce

4 cups cooked and mashed sweet potato

12 10-inch flour tortillas, warmed

8 oz. shredded cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Heat oil in a medium skillet, and saute onions and garlic until soft. Add beans and mash well. Gradually stir in water, and heat until thick and warm. Remove from heat and stir in chili powder, cumin, mustard, cayenne pepper (if using) and soy sauce. Divide bean mixture and mashed sweet potatoes evenly between the warm tortillas; place next to the lower edge. Fold over tightly, fold in sides and fold over again to close. Bake for 12 minutes in the oven and serve warm. Chopped green onion and sour cream go well with these burritos. (If you are going to freeze for later use, do not bake the burritos. Wrap each burrito individually in foil, and then place in a bag for freezing.)

12 Comments

Filed under Frugal Recipe of the Week, Recipes

12 responses to “Frugal Recipe of the Week: Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

  1. I am excited to try this recipe. I have been looking for more ways to incorporate sweet potatoes into our diet. I also like that I can prepare these ahead and freeze them for a low prep dinner on busy nights. I am going to add this to next week’s menu, as well as my modified once a month cooking plan.

  2. These are really, really, really good! I’m also looking for some more ways to eat sweet potatoes. I usually just roast them which everyone likes as a side, but am going to try sweet potato muffins too.

  3. I love this recipe! I found it awhile ago on Allrecipes.com. Its defintiely a lot better when you use fresh sweet potatoes and whole beans rather than refried beans and canned sweet potatoes. But still a great recipe

    • So that’s where my friend found the recipe–Allrecipes. I’m happy to give credit where credit is due.

      I definitely agree about the beans and potatoes! I’m not a big fan of canned sweet potatoes anyway–too many yukky Thanksgiving casseroles when I was young, I think.

  4. Wow does this sound good! I can’t imagine how yummy it is with the mix of sweet and savory flavors! It’s a must try :)

    ~Aubree Cherie

  5. Hi Laura, I just wanted to let you know that I linked this to my favorite recipes from last week post :)

    ~Aubree Cherie

  6. Hi! These sound great, and I’m planning on making them tonight. One question – do you put the cheese inside of the burrito along with the beans/potatoes, or as a topping?

  7. burritofan

    i love these. you don’t have to do canned potatoes to save on time…. just microwave the sweet potatoes! cut up into chunks so they’re no more than 2 inches thick, add a couple tablespooons water, cover, zap for a few minutes while you’re sauteeing the onions. They come out really tender.

    • Thanks for the tip!

      I read somewhere where someone used a similar filling but put into enchiladas instead of a burrito so I’m going to have to give that a try next time.

Leave a Reply

